Share |



On Jan. 19, LaGrange County deputies investigated a report of criminal mischief at a residence on CR 250W.


The Prairie Heights Community Schools Board of Education met in regular session on Jan. 21.


Freshman lawmaker Alan Morrison knew long before he came to the Indiana Statehouse that Indiana’s roads were in a bad state.


Two area girls will represent Campus Life clubs in the 2013 “Miss Campus Life” competition Jan. 25 through Feb. 9.


Dean E. Murphy, 83, Coldwater, Mich., died Monday, January 21, 2013 at Parkview Hospital in LaGrange.



Beverly Jean Howe, 69, Stroh, died Tuesday, January 22, 2013 at Lakeland Nursing Home in Angola.


Calvin Kirk “Kelly” Thomas, 60, Lakeville, Ind., formerly of Rome City, died Sunday, January 20, 2013 at his residence.


Reverend Emerald Joe Miller, 79, Shipshewana, died Monday, January 21, 2013 at IU Goshen Hospital.


Wanetia Katie Eash, 81, LaGrange, died Tuesday, January 22, 2013 at Life Care Center of LaGrange.


Glenn A. Wilhelm, 86, LaGrange, died Monday, January 21, 2013 at his residence.


Irene B. Hilty, 50, Shipshewana, died Monday, January 21, 2013 at Parkview LaGrange Hospital.


Lakeland rallied to defeat Hamilton, 43-35 in NECC girls basketball action Saturday evening in Hamilton.



Lakeland squeezed out a 44-42 varsity boys basketball victory over NECC foe Hamilton last Friday night on the Marines’ court.


Prairie Heights shaded Fremont 38-36 in NECC girls basketball this past Saturday night in Brushy Prairie.


Northridge blew past Lakeland, 63-10 in varsity girls basketball last Thursday night in Middlebury.


Jordyn Bontrager tossed in 17 points in sparking the Westview varsity boys basketball team to a 53-30 triumph at Jimtown Saturday night.


Westview used a 20-7 surge in the fourth quarter to put away Fairfield, 51-37 in NECC boys basketball play last Friday night in Emma.


The Westview varsity girls basketball team picked up a big NECC victory over arch-rival Fairfield, 51-41 last Friday night in Emma.


LaGrange McDonald’s Manager Sue Hendrickson received the restaurant’s Ray Kroc Award on Jan. 18 in recognition of her dedication to her crew and customers.