Share |


A Stroh man died at the hospital after having a heart attack while driving and crashing his vehicle.

For the third year in a row, Prairie Heights High School has been recognized both nationally and in the world for students’ performance by receiving a bronze rating.

Lakeland High School announced Thursday morning that Cole Miller and Francesca Albergo have been named as the Class of 2016 valedictorians.

In next Tuesday’s Primary Election, four candidates are running to fill three slots on the LaGrange County Council. Of those, three are incumbents.

The Lakeland School Board accepted the resignation of Risa Herber Monday afternoon. Herber had been the district’s superintendent for 10 years.

There were eight presentations Tuesday night for the Launch LaGrange County program. But one stood out.

Shortly after 2 a.m. on April 24, the LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department received a call regarding an accident.

One person was arrested after the LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department received a report of a battery taking place at a residence on CR 500E April 23.

Harriet E. Atwater, 99, Howe, died Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at Miller’s Merry Manor of LaGrange.

The 3rd Annual “Rebuilding LaGrange County” Mission Week is set for June 14-18, and is seeking volunteers.

Following are the polling locations for the primary election on Tuesday, May 3:

Elizabeth Klaassen, a sophomore at Westview High School, has been named as a delegate to the Congress of Future Medical Leaders in Lowell, Mass. The gathering will be held June 25-27.

Odell J. “Jay” LaMarr, 85, Wolcottville, died Monday, April 25, 2016 at his residence.

Debra J. Glass, 59, Rome City, died Monday, April 25, 2016, at Presence Sacred Heart Home in Avilla, Ind.

Ray J. Miller, 70, Howe, died Tuesday, April 26, 2016 at his daughter’s residence in Nappanee.

50 Years Ago in the Standard

April 28, 1966