Share |

Articles in "News"

Westview High School Band members Arthur Koehler and Andrew Brown were selected this fall to be a part of a project sponsored by Quinlan and Fabish Music Company.

Shortly before 11 p.m. on December 1, the Phillips 66 gas station in Howe was robbed at gunpoint.

Two people were arrested after a traffic stop at approximately midnight on December 1.

50 Years Ago in the Standard

December 2, 1965


HOME (Indoor plants and activities)

The RV industry continues to move larger numbers of trailers, campers and motorhomes this year than last year, according to market reports.

The LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department was contacted shortly after 7 p.m. on November 24 regarding an unwanted person at a residence in the 7000E block of CR 200S.

The LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department was called recently regarding a loaded firearm found along a county road.

A pedestrian was injured Monday when he was struck by an SUV.

The LaGrange County Plan Commission approved two expansion projects for area businesses at Monday’s meeting.

There was little change overall in the county’s unemployment rate for October this year, with a slight uptick to 3.3 percent.

Young people in Northeast Indiana tend to be employed in lower-paying industries, according to the November Labor Market Report issued by Northeast Indiana Works.

The Westview High School Speech Team excelled at their first two speech meets of the season.

On November 12, the team competed at Bethany Christian High School in Goshen.

The LaGrange County REMC Operation Round Up has awarded Hoosiers Feeding the Hungry $1,000 for its 2015 “Meat the Need” program.

50 Years Ago in the Standard

November 25, 1965


Evan Haase, grandson of LaGrange residents Russell and Ardala Hepler, was awarded the rank of Eagle Scout last week.

It was a year ago last Saturday that Lakeland Football Assistant Coach Dave Priestley found out that he would need a new heart and spent Thanksgiving in the hospital.

Today, House Speaker Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) announced caucus leadership and committee chairmanship changes for the Indiana House of Representatives.