Share |

Articles in "News"

LaGrange County Commissioners awarded two separate contracts for bridge engineering work at Monday’s meeting.

Community Corrections in LaGrange County has received more money from the Indiana Department of Corrections for the 2016-2017 grant cycle, according to Brett Hays, program coordinator.

The LaGrange County Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) held its May meeting Tuesday evening, hearing a total of 10 requests.

Developmental variance requests included:

David and Sarah DeAngelis of Mississippi stopped through Shipshewana last year on a whim. They were heading to Michigan and stopped to spend the night and look around the next morning.

For the Class of 2016, Westview High School has named four students as co-valedictorians, all within 0.009 GPA points of one another.

Students named were:

50 Years Ago in the Standard

May 19, 1966


The deadline has changed for selecting and announcing LaGrange County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar for 2017.

Trine University recognized more than 250 students at its annual Honors Program April 29 in the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts.

On April 28, Farmers State Bank donated a little piece of history to the town of Topeka.

LaGrange County Auditor Kay Myers was elected president of the Association of Indiana Counties’ (AIC) Northeast District during the annual meeting in Whitley County last month.

The Westview School Board approved the purchase of a one-ton truck at their Thursday meeting.

The LaGrange County Sheriff's Department was called on May 15 about a car that was damaged while sitting for sale near the roadway. The car was located in the 1000N block of CR 1150W.

Shortly after 10 p.m. on May 15, deputies from the LaGrange County Sheriff's Department were sent to the 6000S area of CR 500E regarding a loud party.

A Saturday afternoon crash was caused by a driver who swerved to avoid an animal on the roadway, according to the LaGrange County Sheriff's Department.

State Rep. Denny Zent (R-Angola) earned a perfect score on the Indiana Chamber of Commerce’s annual Legislative Vote Analysis for his support of pro-economy, pro-jobs legislation.

Westview High School has announced the recipients of academic excellence scholarship and certificates for the 2015-2016 school year.

Culpepper & Merriweather Circus will be coming to Topeka on June 11.