Share |

Wrestling Regional results


Four wrestlers from LaGrange County earned semi-state berths at Saturday’s individual regional held in Goshen.

Prairie Heights sophomore Kyle Mockensturm and Westview senior Brian Mullett both advanced in the 113-pound weight division. Mockensturm defeated Mullett, 3-1 in the match that decided third place at the regional.

Lakeland senior T.J. Thompson also won his consolation bout over Ryan Baxter of Northridge, 5-4 to move on in the 138-pound flight. Advancing to the semi-state with a fourth-place result at the regional was Westview senior 182-pounder Taylor Warren.

Local grapplers just missing the semi-state cut with fifth-place finishes were Lakeland junior Lukas Long at 106 pounds, Westview senior Tony Steglich at 145, Prairie Heights senior Mike Gaetz at 182 and Westview junior Michael Yankosky at 285.

East Noble, powered by individual champions Garrett Pepple (106), Connor Knapp (113), Jacob Weimer (138), Tyler Householder (145)Brandon Joest (220) and Drake DeMuyt (285), easily won the regional team championship with a score of 185 points. Pepple and Knapp kept their unbeaten seasons alive with their title runs.

The semi-state tournament wil take place this Saturday at the Allen County Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne. Wrestling is slated to begin at 9 a.m. The top-four finishers at the semi-state advance to the IHSAA state finals meet the weekend of February 15-16 in Indianapolis.


Team Scoring

East Noble 185; Elkhart Memorial 141; Jimtown 116; Fairfield 89.5; Northridge 86.5; Goshen 73; Fremont 57; DeKalb 56.5; West Noble 47.5; Elkhart Central 42; Westview 37; NorthWood 34; Angola 31; Central Noble 31; Prairie Heights 27; Lakeland 23; Concord 18.5

Championship Matches

106—Garrett Pepple (EN) dec. Blake Glogouski (FF), 8-3

113—Connor Knapp (EN) dec. DeLawrence Gayfield (EC), 4-3

120—Forrest Glogouski (FF) dec. Konner Chafin (JT), 6-0

126—Nick Crume (JT) pinned Brett Martz (FF), 0:51

132—Zach Krumlauf (DK) pinned Cody Koebel (JT), 3:18

138—Jacob Weimer (EN) dec. Tylor Willms (FR), 1-0

145—Tyler Householder (EN) major dec. Austin Bauer (AN), 11-0

152—Connor Brummett (DK) major dec. Tim Deters (NR), 14-3

160—Johnny Tredway (EC) dec. Jesse Maley (EN), 9-4

170—Tanner Adams (JT) won by default over Tommy Kendall (EM)

182—Zach Telschow (NW) dec. Kain Jenkins (EM), 9-7

195—Tieshawn Johnson (EM) pinned Zach Goodyear (WN), 0:49

220—Brandon Joest (EN) dec. Eliseo Guerra (EC) 10-7

285—Blake DeMuyt (EN) pinned Justin Lee (CN), 4:45

Consolation Matches

106—Scotty Huff (GO) major dec. Eugene Moody-Neukom (EM), 8-0

113—Kyle Mockensturm (PH) dec. Brian Mullett (WV), 3-1

120—Sterling Lutter (EN) dec. Hunter Leskowyak (FR), 3-1

126—Jermel Moody-Neukom (EM) major dec. Devin Puckett (NR), 11-2

132—Taylor Grim (WN) pinned Trevor Yoder (FF), 3:28

138—T.J. Thompson (LL) dec. Ryan Baxter (NR), 5-4

145—Nick Vaughn (EM) dec. Logan Williams (DK), 1-0

152—Chris Morris (EM) won by default over Travis Pickard (GO)

160—Ricky Short (FR) pinned Morgan Cosby (FF), 0:29

170—Evan Smith (GO) dec. Scott Kasten (NR), 7-1

182—Elijah Eckert (CN) dec. Taylor Warren (WV), 4-2

195—Ross Walker (EN) pinned McKenna Malcom (NR), 1:51

220—Chris Connell (NR) dec. Cody Spurgeon (JT), 7-4

285—Hayden Schmucker (GO) dec. Lucas Wickey (NR), 6-1