Share |

Voter Registration Deadline April 9


Indiana Secretary of State Connie Lawson, Indiana’s chief election officer, urges eligible Hoosiers to register to vote or to update a voter registration for the upcoming primary election. New Indiana voters or voters who have moved or changed their name since the last election must update their registration by April 9. The primary election is on Tuesday, May 8.

“It is my hope to encourage all eligible Indiana voters to participate in this year’s elections,” Secretary Lawson said. “The initial measure in fulfilling this civic duty is to ensure proper registration, either as a new voter or with an appropriate updated voter registration.”

Anyone not yet registered to vote may register in-person at his or her county voter registration office, county clerk's office, or any Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) license branch. Voters may also mail in their registration form, which can be printed from Mailed registration forms must be postmarked by the same April 9 deadline.

Indianavoters who possess a current, valid Indiana driver’s license or BMV identification card may also register online at through 11:59 p.m. on April 9.

Indiana residents are eligible to vote in the primary if they will be at least 18 years of age at the next General Election on Nov. 6, 2012, are a citizen of the United States and a resident of Indiana, are not currently in prison after being convicted of a crime, and will have lived in the precinct where they plan to vote for at least 30 days prior to the election.

Although some “fail-safe” procedures permit certain voters to update their registrations after that date, not every voter will qualify to use those procedures. Meeting the April 9 deadline for updating registration records is critically important.

April 9 marks the beginning of early absentee voting. An eligible voter may cast an absentee primary election ballot before an absentee voter board in the voter’s respective circuit court clerk’s office.

Voter registration for the Nov. 6, 2012 General Election begins May 22 and closes October 9.