Share |

Topeka Team wins National Softball Championship

D & R Miller Concrete/Scott Routing/Silverback RV became the first Topeka-based men’s softball team to bring home a national championship this past Labor Day weekend.

The local club won the ASA Eastern Class E title in Columbus, Ohio with a 3-2, 11-inning victory over the Home Town Villains, a squad out of Virginia, in the second championship game. An hour or so earlier D & R Miller, who emerged from the Loser’s Bracket, had taken a 9-6 win over Home Town, who had claimed the Winner’s Bracket.

D & R Miller’s title trek started Saturday with a 19-3 romp over Knuckleheads/Preferred Flooring (New York). But in the next round, the Topeka squad lost an 8-5 result to Tim’s Tavern (Ohio), dropping it into the Loser’s Bracket.

The local nine began the long journey through the Loser’s Bracket Saturday night by edging Hovingh Concrete Diamond Kings (Michigan), 11-9. D & R Miller then beat Marx HVAC (Kentucky), 15-0 in the first of nine games it would play Sunday.

Fellow Topeka entry Team Wildcard was the next victim, 6-3. D & R Miller then rattled off wins over Got Beef?/Fresh Printz Softball of Indiana (13-3), Lineshot Softball of Michigan (11-3), Mugshotz of New York (8-2), TAC of Delaware (2-1) and C & B Cougots of Virginia (17-7) to reach the championship round.

D & R Miller Concrete players included Daryl Beechy, Dale Nissley, Steven Yoder, Matthew Yutzy, Davy Schwartz, Seth Wingard, Ben Nissley, Myron Miller, Joe Hostetler, Kyle Mast, Nathan Whetstone and Leon Miller. Coaching the squad was Daniel Lehman. Sponsors were Dan and Dena Miller (D & R Concrete), Willy Bender (Scott Routing) and Merv Hostetler (Silverback RV).