Share |

Topeka Fire Fighters Honored


The Topeka Volunteer Fire Department, Station 30, held its annual Christmas and Recognition Banquet on Monday evening, December 3rd.

Nate Sprunger and Greg Strawser were recognized for their ten years of service. Sprunger was also the recipient of the 2012 Red Haggard Fireman of the Year Award. Assistant Chief Pete Kaufman was named First Responder of the Year. Chaplain Harold Gingerich was recognized with an award for his dedication and service to the department.

Bruce Coney with LaGrange County EMS was on hand to recognize 10 firemen and a Topeka police officer for their life saving efforts on July 3, 2012. Their prompt response and stabilization efforts meant the survival of a victim who, following a heart attack, crashed his car into a Topeka natural gas substation.

Station 30 officers for 2013 are: Stewart Bender, Chief; Pete Kaufman, Assistant Chief; Gerald Hershberger, Captain; Adam Lambright, Rescue Captain; Pat Martin, Lieutenant (Sec/Treasurer), Nate Sprunger, Lieutenant; and Chris Miller, Safety Officer.