Share |

SWCD holds annual meeting

The LaGrange County Soil and Water Conservation District held its 62nd annual meeting Thursday evening at the LaGrange County 4-H Fairgrounds.

The district handed out several conservation awards. DeWayne Mishler was recognized as a River Friendly Farmer. Mark Grossman was awarded Conservation Farmer of the Year, Ron Kauffman was named Master Farmer of the Year, and Matt Helman was honored as the Young Farmer of the Year.

Sue Schlemmer received the Long Time Service Award for her years of service to the district.

Wolcott Mills teacher Chris Mossberg was named Conservation Educator of the Year.

Andrea Ledgerwood was honored by the district for her 4-H Soil and Water Conservation project.

The Westview senior soils judging team of Reed Oesch, Colton Feller, Madison Jones, and Damon Herschberger was recognized as the county’s top team.

Prairie Heights had teams in second through fourth place in the soil judging contest. Second place was the team of Brandon Oster, Brennan Bolen, Zachery Maillard, and Kaitlynn Newby. Third place was the team of Alex Gunthorp, Joanna Claudy, Rese Sprunger, and Danny Emerick. Fourth place went to Logan Mettert, Logan Tropp, Josh Perkins and Mick Delancey.

Stan Clark from Farmers State Bank was named Cooperator of the Year.