Share |

Slate for primary ballots set for county offices


Races for several county offices will be contested in the May primary to decide who will run in the fall General Election.

With the announcement that County Commissioner George Bachman won’t seek another term as the District 2 representative, two Republicans have filed to seek the party nomination. Current Council President Jac Price will go up against Don Owsley in May.

The winner in the Primary will go up against Democrat Mary Mynhier. Mynhier ran against Bachman in the last election, falling just a few votes short of Bachman.

Four Republicans have filed to run for LaGrange County Council Member At Large. Incumbents Michael Strawser and Steven McKowen will vie with Michael Sutter and Benjamin Taylor for the three available seats on the county council.

Two Republicans will be on the Primary ballot for Clerk of the Circuit Court. Either Bonnie Brown or June Brown will end up running against Democratic candidate Suellyn Mickem in November.

The LaGrange County Recorder race will be determined in November, as each party had only one candidate file. Jennifer McBride (R) will face Pamela Farber (D).

Vonda Akey (R) was the lone candidate to file for the LaGrange County Treasurer post.

The following is a complete list of candidates that filed with the LaGrange County Clerk’s Office:

Clerk of the Circuit Court – Bonnie Brown (R), June Brown (R), and Suellyn Mickem (D).

County Commissioner District 2 – Don Owsley (R), John (Jac) Price (R), and Mary Mynhier.

County Commissioner District 3 – Larry Miller (R).

County Council Member At Large (three available) – Michael Strawser (R), Michael Sutter (R), Benjamin Taylor (R), and Steven McKowen (R).

CountyRecorder– Jennifer McBride (R) and Pamela Farber (D).

CountyTreasurer– Vonda Akey (R).

Precinct Committeeman Bloomfield 1 – Steven Bowen (R).

Precinct Committeeman Bloomfield 2 – C. Susan Glick (R).

Precinct Committeeman Clay – Patricia Brown (R) and Rodney Taylor (R).

Precinct Committeeman Johnson North – Paul Wilson (R) and Meredith Cameron (R).

Precinct Committeeman Johnson South – Duane Van Wagner (R) and Ted Strawser (R).

Precinct Committeeman Milford West – Stephen Garman (R).

Precinct Committeeman Newbury – Ann Glick (R).

Precinct Committeeman Springfield – Kay Myers (R) and Aaron Talmage (R).

Governor – David Fagan (R), James Wallace (R), Michael Pence (R), and John Gregg (D).

U.S. Senator – Richard Mourdock (R), Richard Lugar (R), and Joseph Donnelly (D).

U.S. President – Mitt Romney (R), Patricia Sandifer (R), Rick Santorum (R), Ron Paul (R), Newt Gingerich (R), Mark Callahan (R), and Barack Obama (D).

Democratic Convention Delegate (eight available) – Mary Mynhier, David Manderfeld, Trudy Manderfeld, Mark Eagleson, Charles Ashcraft, and Thomas Smith.

Republican Convention Delegate (eight available) – Troy Smith, Susan Pipher, William Pipher, Ted Strawser, Patricia Brown, Jeffrey Campos, Gregory Clarke, Michael Cole, C. Susan Glick.