Share |

Slate of candidates set for fall election


A fairly light voter turnout in Tuesday’s Primary Election clarified the fall race for local offices.

Overall, the turnout was just shy of 24 percent, with 3,697 total votes cast.

Area Republicans watched the race between incumbent State Senator C. Susan Glick and State Representative David Yarde, who ran against Glick for the nomination. Glick easily outpaced Yarde in LaGrange County, with 75 percent of the votes. Yarde closed the gap with votes from Noble and DeKalb counties slightly, but Glick ended up with 61 percent of the overall vote.

Angoladentist Dr. Dennis Zent bested Aaron Claudy to be the Republican candidate for District 51 State Representative, earning 78 percent of the district’s vote.

In LaGrange County, Bonnie Brown topped June Brown to be the party’s candidate for the LaGrange County Clerk position. Bonnie Brown was recently selected in a caucus to fulfill the term of resigned clerk Beverly Elliott. Bonnie Brown will face Democrat Suellyn Mickem in the fall race.

The District 2 Commissioner race went to Jac Price, who had a nearly 2-1 lead over Donald Owsley with 64.7 percent of the vote. Price will face Democratic candidate Mary Mynhier in the fall to fill the seat being left by long-serving Commissioner George Bachman.

Steve McKowen, Michael Strawser, and Ben Taylor were the top three Republican candidates for the three open County Council-at-Large positions being sought. McKowen led all candidates with 28.3 percent of the vote. Strawser was second with 27.6 percent, Taylor had 23.3 percent for third, and Mike Sutter was just off Taylor’s pace with 20.1 percent.

2012 Primary Election Results.xls38.5 KB