Share |

Shipshewana Area Historical Society holds annual meeting

The Shipshewana Area Historical Society held its 13th annual meeting on October 21 in the Wolfe Community Building with 93 members and guests present. Murlyn Myers welcomed everyone.

The meal was catered by the Fashion Farm of Ligonier, with Maire Dillon in charge.

President Roberta Markley gave an overview of the past year.

Officers for 2014 are: Roberta Markley, president; Sharon Bowen vice president; Becky Davis-Ressler, treasurer; Mary Jane Friend, secretary; Janet Schrock, curator; Marie Dillon, Burdette Norris, Truman Miller, and Murlyn Myers, board members; Al Yoder. historian; Andy Cummings, maintenance; and Sharon Bowen, public relations.

The "Trail of Courage" was presented by Janet Schrock.

The society’s November meeting will be held on Monday, Nov. 18, at the Farver School Museum across from the post office in downtown Shipshewana. Doors will open at 6 p.m.

A special Reminiscence Day Meeting will be held at 5:30 p.m., before the regular meeting. Everyone is welcome.

The regular meeting at 6:30 p.m. will review the past year and make plans for the future.