Share |

Prairie Heights wrestlers victorious at NECC Tourney


A trio of Prairie Heights wrestlers earned individual championship at the annual NECC wrestling tournament held Saturday at Lakeland High School.

Freshman Kyle Mockensturm, junior Joe Boots and senior Reed Holcomb were the Panthers to stand tallest on the awards stand. The three titles sparked Prairie Heights to a solid fourth-place finish in the final team standings with 149 points. Angola (162.5),  Churubusco (151.5) and Fairfield (149.5) took the top three spots.

Mockensturm (36-3) downed Westview junior Brian Mullett, 7-4 in the 106-pound division decider. The Panther rookie pinned freshman Tre Roose of Eastside in 20 seconds to open his title trek, then bested Lakeland sophomore Lukas Long, 9-4 in the semifinals.

Mullett (30-6) reached the finals with a 16-0 technical fall over freshman Alex Lich of Churubusco in the first round and a 4-1 decision over Central Noble junior Mike Hoon, 4-1 in the semifinals.

Boots (32-7) pinned Fairfield senior Ryan Taylor in 25 seconds and freshman Taylor Grim of West Noble in 1:32 to claim a berth in the 126-pound bracket finale. The Panther then whipped freshman Alex Collins of Central Noble, 10-5 to win the crown.

Holcomb (36-6) easily defeated Fairfield senior Dustin Smallwood by a 15-0 technical fall to sew up the 160-pound class championship. Holcomb cruised into the finals with pins of Westview freshman Kegan Watson in 22 seconds and Angola freshman Sam Wilcox in 4:40.

Two other county grapplers made it to the finals of their weight brackets only to lose. Prairie Heights sophomore Nick Minnick was pinned by fellow sophomore Trever Yoder of Fairfield at 58 seconds in the 113-pound closer.

Westview senior Austin Lewton, who earned his 100th career victory a week earlier, dropped a 6-4 overtime decision to senior Dillon Hinen of Fairfield in the 138-pound title bout. Earlier in the week.

Five local matmen placed third in their flights. That group included sophomore Lukas Long (106 pounds) and junior T.J. Thompson (132) of Lakeland, junior Mike Gaetz (182) and senior Chris Boles (195) of Prairie Heights, and sophomore Michael Yankosky (285) of Westview.



Team Scoring

Angola 162,5; Churubusco 151,5; Fairfield 149.5; Prairie Heights 149; West Noble 145; Fremont 113; Lakeland 89.5; Westview 82.5; Central Noble 75.5; Eastside 69

Championship Matches

106– Kyle Mockensturm (PH) dec. Brian Mullett (WV), 7-4

113– Trever Yoder (FF) pinned Nick Minnick (PH), 0:58

120– Forrest Glogouski (FF) dec. Chase Downey (CH), 12-5

126–Joe Boots (PH) dec. Alex Collins (CN), 10-5

132– A.J. Grim (WN) dec. Tylor Willms (FR), 3-2

138– Dillon Hinen (FF) dec. Austin Lewton (WV), 6-4 in OT

145–Kevin Marsh (WN) pinned Austin Bauer (AN), 4:43

152–Zach Bebee (AN) pinned Dustin Hinen (FF), 1:07

160– Reed Holcomb (PH) tech fall over Dustin Smallwood (FF), 15-0

170– Jason Nicodemus (CH) dec. Zach Rupright (WN), 7-3

182– Sam Siddons (CH) dec. Dalton Hinen (FF), 2-1

195– Zach Goodyear (WN) pinned Brian Richardson (CH), 2:41

220–Tyler Ruckman (ES) pinned Beau Hamer (AN), 1:11

285–Andrew Amos (AN) pinned Matt Beard (ES), 2:18

Third-Place Matches

106–Lukas Long (LL) won by default over Mike Hoon (CN)

113–Sage Bell (AN) dec. Hunter Kline (FR), 6-5

120–Tanner Frye (FR) pinned Noe Gutierrez (WN), 2:58

126– James Barryo (AN) dec. Shane Shroyer (CH), 10-6

132– T.J. Thompson (LL) pinned Daimon Heffley (ES), 2:06

138–Adam Boggess (CH) pinned Spencer Richter (CN), 0:22

145–Joey Heaton (CH) dec. Nathan Hippenhammer (LL), 10-6

152– Victor Guererro (WN) dec. Brad Owen (FR), 5-1

160–Ricky Short (FF) major dec. Tristyn Martz (LL), 13-4

170–Rhyan Hedges (ES) dec. Taylor Warren (WV), 8-4

182– Mike Gaetz (PH) pinned Brady Elliott (FR), 3:26

195–Chris Boles (PH) pinned Matt Simmons (FF), 2:55

220–Gunner Barnhart (CH) dec. Adam Dossett (FR), 4-1

285–Michael Yankosky (WV) dec. Justin Lee (CN), 8-6

Fifth-Place Matches

106– Hunter Price (FR) dec. Grant Tingley (AN), 4-0

113–Cory Niece (LL) pinned Jacob Pilnock (CN), 3:49

120–Lane Waite (PH) pinned Dylan Mast (WN), 2:33

126–Taylor Grim (WN) pinned Dillan Pollard (FR), 4:52

132–Austin Boggess (CH) dec. Tony Steglich (WV), 6-2

138–Matt Neeley (PH) pinned Cain Shepherd (LL), 2:51

145–Shawn Varney (FF) won by default over Trey Kennedy (WV)

152–Logan Good (WV) pinned Blake Swogger (PH), 2:38

160–Oscar Reyes (WN) dec. Sam Wilcox (AN), 10-4

170–Eli Eckert (CN) dec. Austin Curtis (AN), 9-7

182–Thomas Lapham (AN) pinned Tavo Mora (WN), 2:45

195–Elliot Jimenez (CN) dec. Benson Benally (AN), 5-0

220– Chase Haynes (WN) pinned Jackson Evans (LL), 3:16

285–Brock Bergman (LL) pinned Brad Martin (CH), 2:15