Share |

Peter Cook named LLC president


Peter Cook was named president of the LaGrange County Council at the council’s first meeting of the new year Monday. Cook resides near Adams Lake in Johnson Township. Cook also serves as president of the LaGrange County Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Directors. Cook replaces Jac Price, who was elected county commissioner last year.

Michael Strawser was named vice president. He served as the vice chair last year as well.

County council members had four appointments to make to various boards. Those included Jody Blake to the county library board, Debra Notestine to the Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals (PTABOA), Sheldon Schrock to the Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA), and Mike Helmkamp to the local alcoholic beverage board.

Newly elected council member Richard Yoder was appointed as the council representative on the county plan commission. He will also serve as an advisor to the Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) and on the county human relations/personnel and health insurance committees.

Ben Taylor, newly elected councilman from Springfield Township, was appointed to Northeast Indiana Solid Waste District Board and to the legal expense review committee.

Charles Ashcraft will serve on the LaGrange County Council on Aging Board, the LaGrange County Health Board, LaGrange County Community Foundation Investment Committee, EDIT committee, and economic development corporation (EDC) board.

Mike Strawser will serve on the extension board and the liability insurance and vehicle committee.

Steve McKowen was appointed to serve on the park board, tax abatement review committee and Major Moves Committee.

Ryan Riegsecker was appointed to the sheriff’s merit board and Major Moves Committee.

Council President Cook will serve on the local emergency management agency advisory committee, tax abatement review committee, EDIT committee and Region III-A Board of Directors.

Council members accepted budget assignments as follows:

Ashcraft – auditor, highway dept., treasurer and veterans service office.

Yoder – assessor, circuit court, and superior court.

Cook – coroner, soil and water conservation, weights and measures

McKowen – clerk of courts, parks and recreation, surveyor.

Taylor – health, WIC, in-formation technology, GIS, and recorder.

Riegsecker – emergency management, plan commission, prosecuting attorney, sheriff.

Strawser – building dept., maintenance, extension and community foundation investment committee.