Share |

NECC wrestling tourney results


Kyle Mockensturm and Doug Levitz of Prairie Heights, and T.J. Thompson of Lakeland each won individual championships Saturday at the annual NECC wrestling tournament held in Ligonier.

Mockensturm, a sophomore, edged Westview senior and top-seed Brian Mullett, 3-1 in the finals of the 113-pound weight class. Tied at 1-all late in the third period, Mockensturm (33-3) scored a takedown of Mullett (31-6) to produce the winning points.

It was the second straight year Mockensturm defeated Mullett for a conference crown. Last January as a freshman, Mockensturm forged a 7-4 decision over his Warrior rival in the 106-pound finale.

The Panther pinned Samuel Clayton of Fairfield, Thomas Smith of Central Noble and Hunter Price of Fremont in the preliminary rounds Saturday. Mockensturm dispatched Clayton in just 11 seconds and needed just 37 ticks to beat Smith.

Levitz stuck top-seeded Brett Martz of Fairfield in 1:47 to win the 126-pound division title. It was only the third loss suffered by the Falcon grappler this season while Levitz, just a freshman, improved to 32-9 with the win.

Before meeting Martz in the decider, Levitz fashioned pins of Eastside’s Tate Burns and West Noble’s Jonathan Weimer.

Thompson secured the 138-pound class championship with a 5-2 triumph over Tylor Willms of Fremont. In the semifinals, the Laker senior blanked Daimon Heffley of Eastside, 3-0 to advance.

Pins of Fairfield’s Jacob Curry and Charles Lanan of Angola began Thompson’s title trek. The four victories on the day boosted his season mark to 29-4.

Lakeland junior Lukas Long (106 pounds) and Prairie Heights senior Mike Gaetz (182) finished second in their respective weight classes. Westview senior Tony Steglich (145) took third in his flight.

Fremont won the team championship with a score of 197 points. Churubusco placed second with 182.5, Fairfield third with 159 and Prairie Heights fourth with 122.