Share |

More local dollars for roads

 By Senator Sue Glick

Area roads, bridges and highways will benefit from significant funding increases over the next two years, said State Senator Sue Glick (R-LaGrange).

    During the 2013 legislative session, the General Assembly passed the 2014-2015 state budget, which increased transportation funding by $210 million per year. This includes $100 million for local units each year.

    In total, local counties and municipalities are slated to receive the following allocations. All numbers are for two years. Increases represent a boost from the county’s current funding levels.

    LaGrange County will receive $5,522,114 ($1,396,263 increase), LaGrange County government will receive $5,164,840, The Town of LaGrange will receive $172,589, Shipshewana will receive $43,263, Topeka will get $75,807, and Wolcottville will receive $65,616.

    Other funding includes: Noble County, $7,142,936 ($1,805,933 increase); Noble County government, $5,769,460; Albion, $154,442; Avilla, $157,861; Cromwell, $33,663; Kendallville, $648,407; Ligonier, $289,620; Rome City, $89,484; Steuben County, $5,385,020 ($1,361,507 increase); Steuben County government, $4,492,622; Angola, $566,223; Clear Lake, $22,289; Fremont, $140,569; Hamilton, $100,726; Hudson, $34,058; Orland, $28,534; DeKalb County, $6,931,873 ($1,752,509 increase); DeKalb County government, $5,233,141; Altona, $12,953; Ashley, $64,630; Auburn, $837,038; Butler, $176,468; Corunna, $16,700; Garrett, $413,292; St. Joe, $30,244; and Waterloo, $147,407.

    “Our roads and highways connect visitors to our community’s resources, which is an essential component to boosting economic development,” Glick said. “Because of that, it’s crucial that our infrastructure is efficient enough to support both incoming and outgoing travel. These funds will give us the tools we need to fix any holes in our transportation network, bringing more investments to our area.”