Share |

Long wins wrestling semi-state

Lakeland senior Lucas Long won the 106-pound flight at Saturday’s IHSAA wrestling semi-state tournament held in Fort Wayne.

Long, making his first-ever appearance at the semi-state level, clinched his title with a pin of Columbia City’s Hunter Langeloh. The Laker needed just a minute to subdue the Eagle.

A 19-4 technical fall triumph over Shane Garretson of Peru kicked off Long’s trek to the crown. The Laker ace downed Jack Franklin of Homestead, 6-4 in the quarterfinals, then shaded East Noble rival Nate Weimer, 5-4 in the semifinals.

Long, now 37-2, advances to the IHSAA state finals for the first time. The Laker will face Warsaw freshman Kyle Hatch (33-7) in the first round Friday night.

Two county heavyweights – Westview senior Michael Yankosky and Lakeland junior Brock Bergman – fell one win short of earning a state finals berth. Yankosky started out strong, pinning opening-round foe Ammon Carr of Carroll in 3:40. But in the second round, the Warrior suffered the same fate at the hands Oak Hill’s Owen Perkins, who stuck Yankosky 27 seconds into the second period.

Bergman shocked the large Allen County Memorial Coliseum crowd when he upended 35-1 Bryce Hagar of Leo, 8-4 in their first-round bout. The Laker then gave Muncie Central standout Darrius Connell all he wanted before falling, 5-3.

Yankosky finishes the season 31-10, while Bergman ended his campaign with a 22-17 mark.

Prairie Heights sophomores Doug Levitz and Kade Gerbers each lost their semi-state openers to finish 36-9 and 27-15, respectively. Levitz was a 14-2 victim of Peru’s Evan Loe in the 145-pound division. Gerbers also lost by major decision to Grant Gough of Winchester, 18-9.

Grant Pepple (113 pounds) and Conner Knapp (120) of East Noble both won weight class titles. Also taking home an individual crown was DeKalb’s Zach Krumlauf (138).

The top four finishers in each weight class at the semi-state garnered berths to the 2014 IHSAA state finals meet at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The first round takes place this Friday at 6 p.m. Winners advance to the quarterfinals starting at 9:30 a.m. Saturday.

Yorktown ran away with the semi-state team championship, scoring 110 points. East Noble was second with 66.


Team Scoring

Yorktown 110; East Noble 66; Kokomo 39; Carroll 34; Elkhart Memorial 34; Peru 34; Western 33; Bellmont 31; FW Wayne 28; Adams Central 26; Columbia City 25; Jay County 24; DeKalb 20; Lakeland 20; Elkhart Central 18; FW Snider 18; Southwood 17; Fairfield 16.5; Huntington North 15; Leo 15; Fremont 14; Manchester 14; Muncie Central 14; Goshen 13; Concord 11; Heritage 10

Championship Matches

106—Lukas Long (Lakeland) pinned Hunter Langeloh (Columbia City), 1:00

113—Garrett Pepple (East Noble) pinned Eddie Loraine (Leo), 0:45

120—Conner Knapp (East Noble) dec. Blake Glogouski (Fairfield), 10-8

126—Erique Early (FW Snider) dec. Tony Vaughn (Elkhart Memorial), 8-2

132—Logan Campbell (Yorktown) dec. Clayton Moore (Manchester), 3-2 in OT

138—Zachary Krumlauf (DeKalb) pinned Derek Ellinger (Adams Central), 2:15

145—Evan Loe (Peru) major dec. Alex Arney (Carroll), 9-1

152—Chandler Carroll (Yorktown) major dec. Tylor Willms (Fremont), 10-0

160—Kyle Jolas (Huntington North) dec. Rhett Hiestand (Yorktown), 4-0

170—Dillon Jackson (Yorktown) dec. Tristan Wilson (Carroll), 6-5

182—Myron Howard-Anderson (Yorktown) pinned Corey Hinkle (Western), 1:54

195—Tieshawn Johnson (Elkhart Memorial) dec. Kanez Omar (FW Wayne), 6-5

220—Fletcher Miller (Kokomo) pinned Eliseo Guerra (Elkhart Central), 1:07

285—Eric Hemmelgam (Jay County) pinned Darrius Connell (Muncie Central), 1:42

Consolation Matches

106—Nate Weimer (East Noble) pinned Jaron Katzer (Goshen), 3:30

113—Jon Becker (Bellmont) pinned Colton Dawes (Southwood), 4:13

120—Delawrence Gayfield (Concord) dec. Brad Laughlin (Yorktown), 5-1

126—Cael McCormick (Yorktown) dec. Logan Aldrich (FW Northrop), 4-3

132—Sam Lovejoy (Heritage) dec. Kegan Kern (Peru), 5-0

138—Dustin Hinkle (Western) dec. Dominic Garrett (FW Dwenger), 7-6

145—Logan Neher (Bellmont) pinned Ryan Baxter (Northridge), 0:59

152—Chad Gaddis (Kokomo) dec. Austin Bauer (Angola), 6-2

160—Shaun Johnson (FW Wayne) pinned Bryce Baumgartner (Bellmont), 4:55

170—Kaine Luginbill (Adams Central) dec. Keair Ross (Kokomo), 6-2

182—Tristin Anglin (Columbia City) dec. Evan Smith (Goshen), 4-2 in OT

195—Bo Davis (Garrett) dec. Nick Cress (Peru), 3-1 in OT

220—Brandon Joest (East Noble) pinned Brad Sadilek (Carroll), 1:43

285—Jake Smith (Southwood) dec. Owen Perkins (Oak Hill), 6-0