Share |

Lilly finalists awarded Lambright Leadership Scholarship


In the extremely competitive selection process for the LaGrange County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, five finalists are interviewed by members of the LaGrange County Community Foundation (LCCF) Board of Directors. The final decision is always tough and the scoring very close.

LaGrange County has a right to be proud of these young people – each finalist’s commitment to academics, community service and leadership annually encourages great optimism within the board of directors regarding the future of our community and the nation. Clearly, each and every finalist is worthy of foundation support through a substantive scholarship. Yet, only one Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship may be awarded in the county. This year that award went to Westview High School senior Brett Yoder.  

In an exciting new development, the Kevin and Carrie Lambright family has stepped forward to create a scholarship award for the remaining four finalists – for this year and for all the years to come. The Lambright Leadership Scholarship is a permanently endowed scholarship that will provide a $1,000 per year, four-year renewable scholarship to each of those finalists. The donor family and the LCCF agree that renewable scholarships are increasingly essential to support higher graduation rates and reduced debt after graduation.

This year, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship finalists who will receive the Lambright Leadership Scholarship at their school award ceremonies will be Zachary Allen of LaGrange, Austin Borg of Wolcottville, Dillon Brower of LaGrange, and Michelle Mowery of Topeka.