Share |

Lewton Wins at Westview Invitational

Austin Lewton of Westview was the lone county wrestler to earn a division crown Saturday at the Westview Invitational.

Lewton captured the 138-pound championship with a pin of Penn’s Josh Curico in the finals. Time of the fall was 3:29.

Warrior teammate Michael Yankosky made it to the finals of the 285-pound weight class before falling to Andrew Amos of Angola by a pin.

Two other local grapplers claimed third-place honors in their flights. Brian Mullett of Westview beat Mike Hoon of Central Noble, 5-0 in the 106-pound consolation match. Lakeland’s Cain Shepherd pinned Josh Zeeb of Angola at 1:55 in the 138-pound consolation bout.

Championships by Amos and Zach Bebee, two former Prairie Heights matmen now at Angola, sparked the Hornets to the team title with 222 points. Long-time successful Prairie Heights coach Doug Smoker now directs the Angola program.


Team Scoring

Angola 222; Penn 206; West Noble 183; SB Adams 174.5; Gibson Southern 153.5; Mishawaka 124.5; Lakeland 106; Westview 101; Central Noble 94

Championship Matches

106—Daniel Olson (SBA) major dec. James Beck (MI), 8-0

113—Hayden Baehl (GS) dec. Jake Chadwick (MI), 4-0

120—Kaleb Greenwell (GS) pinned Noe Gutierrez (AN), 1:50

126—Tony Allen (GS) dec. Taylor Grim (WN), 7-2

132—Sam Ferdig (SBA) major dec. A.J. Grim (WN), 12-1

138—Austin Lewton (WV) pinned Josh Curcio (PE), 3:29

145—Chase Singleton (GS) pinned Austin Bauer (AN), 1:13

152—Zach Bebee (AN) pinned Gavin Miller (SBA), 2:47

160—Eric Gallem (PE) pinned Sam Wilcox (AN), 4:31

170—Zach Rupright (WN) pinned Eli Eckert (CN), 5:19

182—Mitch Meersman (PE) pinned Thomas Lapham (AN), 4:50

195—Alex Skipper (SBA) pinned Zach Goodyear (WN), 2:41

220—Kenan Boyd (SBA) pinned Beau Hamer (AN), 2:51

285—Andrew Amos (AN) pinned Michael Yankosky (WV), 1:23

Consolation Matches

106—Brian Mullett (WV) dec. Mike Hoon (CN), 5-0

113—Nick Woodworth (PE) dec. Cory Niece (LL), 9-6

120—Dylan Mast (WN) major dec. Kyle Porter (LL), 10-0

126—James Baryo (AN) pinned Zach Laphen (PE), 2:54

132—Brandon Potter (PE) dec. T.J. Thompson (LL), 4-2

138—Cain Shepherd (LL) pinned Josh Zeeb (AN), 1:55

145—Keaton Taylor (WN) dec. Dalton Dodge (PE), 5-1

152—Blake Mahoney (GS) pinned Matt Wirick (PE), 3:50

160—Oscar Reyes (WN) pinned Korey Walters (MI), 5-3

170—Eugar Gallegos (SBA) pinned Austin Martin (GS), 4:26

182—Tavo Mora (WN) dec. Quinn Draughter (MI), 5-3

195—Justin Ford (MI) dec. Dalton Lineback (PE), 3-1

220—Joe Gower (MI) dec. Ben Makowski (PE), 5-3

285—Kali Boyd (SBA) pinned Justin Lee (CN), 0:42