Share |

Lakeland wins Monument City Relays

Lakeland ran away with the Monument City Relays team championship Saturday afternoon in Angola.

Coach Keith Thompson’s Lakers piled up 132 points in the meet. Next best with 77 markers were both the host Hornets and DeKalb. Heritage (68) took fourth, Prairie Heights (67) was fifth and Garrett (43) finished sixth.

Leading the Lakeland cause were two-time individual champion Evan Garretson and three relay winners. Garretson swept the throwing competitions, winning the shot put with a toss of 49-2 and taking the discus with a heave of 139-5.

Dustin Cunningham, Joel Miller, Taylor Raatz and Eli Wallace combined to win both the 400-meter relay (46.20) and 800-meter sprint medley relay (1:41.30). The foursome of Nick Byler, Eric Herber, Mishael Theis and Joseph Trost captured first place in the 3200-meter relay (8:31.70).

Individuals earning second-place points for the Lakers were Herber in the 1600 meters (4:46.40), Cunningham in the long jump (18-10) and Tanner Oakley in the high jump (5-6). The quartet of Byler, Dereck Drake, Savan Patel and Theis garnered runner-up honors in the 1600-meter relay (3:43.10). Also finishing second was the 3200-meter distance medley crew of Kyle Burchett, Byler, Herber and Trost (15:10.50).

Placing third were Miller in the 100 meters (11.20), Raatz in the 110-meter hurdles (15.50), Oakley in the long jump (18-3.25), Wyatt Petty in the shot put (44-1), the 1600-meter distance medley relay unit of Burchett, Garett Chrisman, Daniel Nieves and Daniel Overbey (8:54.80), and the 800-meter relay squad of Jonathan Anderson, Marco Olivares, Patel and Theis (1:42.20).