Share |

Lakeland boys win John Reed Relays

Lakeland edged Mishawaka, 106-105 for the team championship in the annual John Reed Relays boys track meet held Saturday at East Noble.

A pair of first-place efforts by weight-throwing standout Evan Garretson powered the Laker title drive. Garretson won the shot put with a heave of 50-5 feet and took the discus competition with a mighty toss of 166-10.5 feet.

Four Lakeland relay teams claimed blue ribbons. The foursome of Dustin Cunningham, Joel Miller, Taylor Raatz and Eli Wallace teamed up to win both the 400-meter and 800-meter relay races in times of 45.09 and 1:34.93, respectively.

Nick Byler, Eric Herber, Mishael Theis and Joseph Trost combined to win the 3200-meter relay in a clocking of 8:22.51. Taking the 800-meter sprint relay crown in a mark of 1:38.11   was the quartet of Byler, Cunningham, Raatz and Wallace.

Tanner Oakley contributed a second-place finish in the high jump (6-4) to the Laker ledger. Scoring third-place points were Raatz in the 110-meter hurdles (16.17), Miller in the 100 meters (11.71), Cunningham in the long jump (19-6) and the 1600-meter relay crew of Dereck Drake, Daniel Nieves, Daniel Overbey and Tanner Raatz (3:46.89).