Share |

LaGrange County REMC Director petitions available


The petition process for election to the LaGrange County REMC board is underway.  Two directors will be elected to a three-year term at the cooperative’s annual meeting in June.  Any LaGrange County REMC member, subject to certain conditions, whose primary residence is in a district up for election may become a candidate. 

The board is made up of seven directors who represent more than 6,000 members within the seven districts in LaGrange County and areas bordering in Steuben, Noble, and Elkhart Counties. 

Director responsibilities include overseeing long-term financial planning and corporate objectives; strategic planning; governing rates and rules for service; operating philosophy and policy; operating budget; and the general manager evaluation.

The following districts are up for election at the 2012 Annual Meeting on June 9.

District 3:  Bloomfield Township and Clay East in LaGrange County. 

District 4:  Clay West and Newbury Township in LaGrange County and Elkhart County. 

Presently serving as directors for the above districts are: 

District 3:  Jeff Hampshire

District 4:  Mark Bontrager

Directors serve a three year term and may be re-elected.  Directors receive remuneration for their service on the board.  Directors are expected to attend a monthly board meeting and stay abreast of issues facing the cooperative.  Directors are highly encouraged to become a Certified Cooperative Director by taking a series of classes to learn about the electric industry, cooperatives, and related topics.

If you would like your name to be placed on the ballot or wish to have additional information, call the office and set up an appointment with Mark Leu, CEO or Sherryl Rhinesmith, Member Services Manager.  At that time the qualifications needed to become a Director will be reviewed with you and upon verification, you will be given a  Director’s nomination packet.  Fifty or more bona fide members must sign the nomination petition and it must be returned to the office for posting not less than 60 days prior to the meeting.

This year’s annual meeting is scheduled for Saturday, June 9.  Petitions must be turned in on or before April 10th to be certified.