Share |

LaGrange County corn school committee seeks nominees for citizens of the year


Nominations are now open for the 2012 LaGrange County Citizen of the Year. LaGrange County Corn School officials are seeking community input from clubs, groups, organizations or individuals. Only written nominations will be considered, and should include the name and address of the individual being nominated, the reasons for the nomination, and a list of accomplishments of the nominee. The nominations should be mailed or delivered to: “LaGrange County Citizen of the Year”, c/o: LaGrange County Corn School Committee, 113 West Spring Street, LaGrange, Indiana 46761, and will be accepted through Saturday, September 22. The winner shall be selected from the nominees by a committee of judges, all of whom are citizens of LaGrange County. Posthumous awards will not be considered; two or more persons may be chosen if, in the opinion of the judges, the persons appear to be equal in their contribution of time, efforts and volunteer work. The award will be presented at Corn School, during the Queen Contest preliminaries at the Court House gazebo on Wednesday, October 3 at 8:30 p.m.

For a person to be eligible for the award, the individual must have been a resident of LaGrange County for at least five years, must never have been disenfranchised or have a criminal record of any kind. The purpose of the award is to honor a citizen of LaGrange County who has contributed in a positive way to the quality of life in the community. The award is based solely on the voluntary achievements of the person, which have been accomplished without compensation. The person’s efforts should have been directed toward the betterment of LaGrange County and the community in which the person lives. Those efforts and activities which foster and encourage social wellbeing, harmony, knowledge and understanding shall be considered by the judges in reviewing the achievements of the various nominees.


A person will not be given the Citizen of the Year award merely because he or she has done a good job at his or her regular occupation. The person’s efforts must be voluntary, above and beyond the call of duty, and directed toward the betterment of LaGrange County and the community in which the person lives.

The contest shall no be conducted as a political campaign, for example having one or two persons contacting groups or organizations, requesting the nomination for themselves, or having other persons contacting groups to influence them to nominate a certain person.

Each club, group, organization or individual making a nomination must do so solely as its, his or her own decision, without influence or coercion by anyone.

Names are to be submitted, reasons given for the nomination, and accomplishments listed and reported to the LaGrange County Corn School Committee. The winner shall be selected from the nominees by the judges, who are well known and competent citizens of LaGrange County; the judges shall remain anonymous for obvious reasons.

The past winners of this award include: 1963 Mrs. Karl Gilbert, 1964 Glendon Sears, 1965 Robert Pierce, 1966 Edythe Gapping and Oma Knauss, 1967 Paul Riddick, 1968 Mary Jane Sell and Riley Case, 1969 Mrs. Fred Deal, 1970 Rev. M.D. Kilver, 1971 Helen Adams, 1972 Rev. Carldean Maerrifield, 1973 Ned Stump, 1974 John Storck, 1975 Nina Walter, 1976 Bob Schott, 1977 Charles Park, 1978 Dora Giggy, 1979 William Hart, 1980 Rev. Wilbur Yates, 1981 Ray Culp, 1982 Russell Howe, 1983 Don Sherman, 1984 Ruth Johns, 1985 Katherine Lewis, 1986 Betty Oakley, 1987 Edgar Franklin, 1988 Rev. Lowell Anderson, 1989 Carmen Abrahamson, 1990 Robert Sleeper, 1991 LeRoy Schultess, 1992 Shelli Yoder, 1993 Dennis Wagner, 1994 Paul Hostetler Jr., 1995 Elsie Willard, 1996 Richard White, 1997 David Christner, 1998 Robert Lovaas, 1999 Florence Notestine, 2000 Frances Prough, 2001 Harriet Warren, 2002 Mahlon Dunkel, 2003 Rollin Carney and Estella Carney, 2004 LuLu Carney, 2005 Donald Curtis, 2006 James McKibben, 2007 William Connelly, 2008 Robert Meeks, 2009 Ted Strawser, 2010 Mont Arnold, 2011 Eugene Mory Jr.