Share |

LaGrange County Community Foundation Heart of Gold Recipient Announced

The Lagrange County Community Foundation (LCCF) Board of Directors selected Randy Packer as the 2013 LCCF Heart of Gold Recipient. Over 60 people attended the award ceremony on Saturday, November 2, at Saint Joseph’s Catholic Church in LaGrange.

The recipient was selected by the LCCF Board of Directors from a pool of twelve local residents nominated by friends and neighbors familiar with their selfless volunteer efforts. The 4th annual brunch was catered by the Saint Joseph’s Ladies Sodality. The LIFE Youth Philanthropy Pod helped in serving the event’s guests, announced the Heart of Gold nominees and presented each with a commemorative pin. 

Packer was awarded an inscribed Heart of Gold Bench and an opportunity to select a LaGrange County not-for-profit of his or her choice for a $1000.00 grant from the Community Foundation. Each nominee was similarly awarded an opportunity to select a LaGrange County not-for-profit for a $100.00 grant from the Community Foundation. In addition, Mr. Packer’s name has been inscribed on the Heart of Gold Wall of Fame plaque that is displayed at the Community Foundation.

Randy Packer was nominated by Cheri Perkins, Executive Director of the LaGrange County Council on Aging. Packer presently serves as President of the LaGrange County Council on Aging Board of Directors and on the Board for United Fund of LaGrange County. Along with those critical responsibilities, he volunteers for many other community committees and on behalf of numerous community service efforts. Perkins wrote that “In everything he does for others on his own time… and that list is extensive, he is known for taking that extra step of service, making that additional commitment to others regardless of the hour of that day or limited resources. If there is a way to help others, Randy will find a way.”

The 2013 Heart of Gold Award Ceremony was generously sponsored by Mahlon and Terri Bontrager, Cedar Lake Golf Course, Davis Mercantile, Farmers State Bank,  Galarina Folk Arts, Inc., Tony and Vickie Guyas, Northern Indiana Golf, Inc. DBA Heron Creek Golf Course, Hostetler Insurance Agency, Paul and Janet Johnston, Kerry and Jama Keaffaber, Sue Keenan, Ed and Judy Keil, LaGrange County Dodge, Kevin and Carrie Lambright, Burvel and Laura Lemings, Bob and Crystal Leu, Tony and Maggie Pechin, Eric and Rhonda Sharp, Shipshewana Family Medicine – Drs. Keaffaber and Pechin, Jeff and Jennifer Wible, Yoder Meat and Cheese Co., Inc.          

For more information about the work of the LaGrange County Community Foundation contact Laura Lemings, Executive Director at (260) 463-4363 or visit