Share |

Kelly to serve on Student Advisory Comittee

Lakeland senior William Kelly has been selected to serve on the 2013-14 Indiana High School Athletic Association’s Student Advisory Committee.

Kelly, who plays football and baseball for the Lakers, was one of 18 student-athletes around the state who were appointed to the group. The SAC meets four times annually (twice each semester) and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers at the upcoming Fall Area Principals Meeting, assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship events throughout the school year, planning an administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference next June and to engage in and support the activities of Special Olympics Indiana.

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain’s Handbook which will be distributed to member schools this fall and assist in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be utilized during 2013-14 state championship events.

Joining Kelly on the SAC are Hayley Betz (Evansville Harrison), Joel Boser (Hamilton Heights), Amber Crowell (Culver Academy), Nathan Criss (South Putnam), Jude Diagostinio (Tri-West Hendricks), Olivia Gettlefinger (Bloomington North), Christian Kreiger (Ft. Wayne Canterbury), Olivia McMillan (Connersville), Jordan Muerer (North Knox), Michael Montgomery (Tindley Accelerated), Gracie Norton (Mooresville), Turner Perkins (Danville), Lexi Place (Bloomfield), Sara Slabaugh (Bremen), Ellen Smith (Plymouth), Kirsten Spangenberg (Boone Grove) and Casey Yager (Rushville). Betz was elected the group’s president and Criss will serve as vice-president.