Share |

IHSAA boys tennis results

East Noble secured its sixth consecutive IHSAA boys tennis sectional championship Saturday afternoon in Kendallville with a 4-1 victory over Westview.

The Knights swept the three singles matches and prevailed at No. 2 doubles in scoring their four points. They will meet Fairfield in the semifinal round of the Concord regional Tuesday evening.

Picking up the lone Warrior marker was the No. 1 doubles tandem of Hunter Christner and Jamar Weaver, who aced Carl Kramer and Jonathan Toles, 6-4, 6-2. With the victory on Saturday, along with their 6-1, 6-2 win over Lakeland foes Sam Miller and Ian Sonner in the semifinal round last Thursday, Christner and Weaver advance to the IHSAA state doubles tournament. Their Concord sectional foes and match date have yet to be determined.

Both Westview and East Noble scored 5-0 semifinal triumphs over Lakeland and West Noble, respectively. Kohle Christner, Andrew Yoder and Stephen Gierek each won singles bouts for the Warriors. Zach Schrock and Taylor Eash joined Christner and Weaver with a doubles win.



Westview 5

Lakeland 0


Kohle Christner (W) def. Dalton Schmidt, 6-4, 6-3

Andrew Yoder (W) def. Austin Buonocore, 6-1, 6-1

Stephen Gierek (W) def. Austin Hoffelder, 6-0, 6-0


Hunter Christner-Jamar Weaver (W) def. Sam Miller-Ian Sonner, 6-1, 6-2

Zach Schrock-Taylor Eash (W) def. Anthony Combs-Christian Roose, 7-6 (7-2), 6-0

East Noble 5

West Noble 0


Austin Mohamedali (EN) def. Tyler Rothhaar, 6-0, 6-4

Evan Hart (EN) def. Jared Swank, 6-2, 6-0

Aaron Dills (EN) def. Josh Gaff, 6-2, 7-6 (7-2)


Carl Kramer-Jonathan Toles (EN) def. Quinn Groff-Ryan Kendall, 7-5, 6-2

Brennen Biggins-Jayson Arend (EN) def. Jacob Musselman-Grant Moser, 6-2, 6-2


East Noble 4

Westview 1


Austin Mohamedali (EN) def. Kohle Christner, 6-1, 6-4

Evan Hart (EN) def. Andrew Yoder, 6-4, 6-2

Aaron Dills (EN) def. Stephen Gierek, 7-6 (7-5), 4-6, 6-2


Hunter Christner-Jamar Weaver (W) def. Carl Kramer-Jonathan Toles, 6-4, 6-2

Brennen Biggins-Jayson Arend (EN) def. Zach Schrock-Taylor Eash, 7-5, 6-3