Share |

Farm Bureau holds annual meeting


LaGrange County Farm Bureau’s annual meeting was held Sept. 10 at Woodruff Grove Church. Pastor Phred Cain gave the devotion and grace before the meal.

There were 77 members in attendance. Following the meal, the group moved to the sanctuary for the meeting.

President Kent Tracey introduced the current board, the youth board, Prairie Heights, Westview and Lakeland FFA chapters, insurance personnel, district leaders Kerry Goshert and Tina Goon, Regional Manager Susan Lawrence, and County Commissioner Larry Miller.

Steve Engleking conducted the election of new officers and board members. Ryan Smith was elected as a new board member.

Kent Tracey remains as the president, with John Reffett as vice president, Nancy Stump as secretary, and Georgetta (Jo) Gunthorp as the county women’s leader.

The special speaker for the meeting was Isabella Chism, second vice president of the Indiana Farm Bureau Board of Directors. She is a member of the executive committee and chairs the State Women’s Leadership Committee.

Chism and her husband of 30 years, Kent, farm in Northwestern Howard County, raising corn, soybeans and three children. They are the 5th generation to farm the land and all three of their children are married and raising the next generation on the farm.

Chism spoke on “Past, Present and Preferred – How Things are Going.”

The next LaGrange County Farm Bureau meeting will be at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 1, at the Farm Bureau Building.