Share |

EDIT budget for 2014 approved

An outline for the 2014 Economic Development Income Tax (EDIT) was approved at a meeting of the EDIT Committee Monday morning. Items approved included a $12,445 stipend for the Region III-A Development fund, $15,000 each for the communities of Mongo, Howe, Stroh and South Milford, $14,996 for the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, and $100,000 for the LaGrange County Economic Development Corporation.

It was noted that the only project to be carried over from the 2007 five-year capital improvement plan from the EDIT fund is the resurfacing of CR 500E from US 20 to Woodruff.

A five-year plan for 2013-2018 will include CR 600S from SR 5 west to the Elkhart County line, CR 500E from US 20 to Woodruff, CR 400E from Wolcottville to CR 700S, and the continuation of the annual payments to the townships which have unincorporated villages of the county. A mention was made of the water and electric upgrades needed at the LaGrange County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Members of the EDIT committee are Charles Ashcraft, chairman, and Peter Cook (representing the county council), County Auditor Kay Myers, and County Commissioner Jac Price.