Share |

EDC honors area companies


The LaGrange County Economic Development Corporation (LCEDC) honored six LaGrange County companies with “Business Excellence” awards at the LCEDC’s annual investor’s meeting on March 8. The meeting was held at the Michiana Event Center (MEC) in Howe, along with the Northeast Indiana Woodcrafters Association Annual Furniture Expo.

The companies honored were Crossroads RV, Mudd-Ox Inc., Nishikawa Standard/NISCO, Open Range RV, S&H Metals, and Spectrum Finishing. The companies were chosen for their contributions to LaGrange County’s economic growth in 2012 as well as for partnering with the LCEDC to assist them in their business development projects.

“We are honored to be able to work with the companies that were recognized,” said Keith Gillenwater, president and CEO of LCEDC. “All of the companies honored are industries in our core areas of focus for LaGrange County’s current and future economic development, and exemplify the quality of companies that we have in LaGrange County.”

“These six companies have a tremendous economic impact on LaGrange County and are very valued employers,” stated Mark Leu, chairman of the board for LCEDC. “We developed this award as a way to acknowledge companies who have contributed to our communities continued growth and I cannot think of a more deserving group to recognize.”

In addition to honoring the local companies, LCEDC also recognized outgoing board members Joe Pierce, Jerry Ankney, and Fred Brown. Special guest John Stafford of the Community Research Institute at Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne (IPFW) presented a talk on how LaGrange County is faring versus other rural Indiana counties. Gillenwater and Leu also gave reports on the state of the local economy, a recap of the organizations 2012 activities and successes, and a preview of projects and priorities for 2013. “We are off and running with our strategic plan in place that gives us to a call to action, and we believe that 2013 promises to be a great year for our economic development efforts in LaGrange County,” Gillenwater said.