Share |

Deadline for Lilly scholarships is January 17

Graduating public or private seniors of LaGrange County high schools who are legal residents of LaGrange County and are committed to earning a baccalaureate degree at an accredited four-year Indiana college or university are encouraged to apply this year for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship available through the LaGrange County Community Foundation.

More details and free applications are available online at the Community Foundation website at The application deadline is 4 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 17.

Lilly scholars enjoy full tuition for eight successive semesters at the qualifying school of their choice along with an annual book stipend. Also, effective last year all finalists for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship (not selected as the Lilly nominee) will receive a four- year $1,000 renewable scholarship through the Lambright Leadership Scholarship.

This year, there will also be an additional $500 one-time Community Scholarship for one of the lucky Lilly semi-finalists. Since 1998, 32 LaGrange County students have earned the competitive Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship and have since launched successful careers after graduation from college in the fields of education, law, engineering, health care and more.

Last year’s awardee was Westview graduate and Indiana Wesleyan freshman Brett Yoder.

For more information regarding this or other community foundation scholarships, contact a high school guidance office or call the community foundation at (260) 463-4363.