Share |

DAR recognizes county youth

An award breakfast honoring High School Good Citizens: Joseph Trost – Lakeland, Darren Shoemaker – Prairie Heights, and Jeron Lewton – Westview; JROTC Cadet Medal Recipient – Cpt. Leita Pleaw - Howe Military; and American History Essay Contest Winner – Brian Lambright – Westview Elementary was served Saturday morning by the LaGrange de LaFayette Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution. These awards with monetary rewards are sponsored by the chapter each year as part of the society’s mission topromote historic preservation, education and patriotism.

The chapter is very proud to announce that Adrianne Vogler will be Christy Stutzman’s successor as the director for the Indiana State DAR chorus. The state level chorus was established under State Regent Martha Barnhart during her service from 2009 – 2012 and continued under current State Regent Jeanie Hornung. This marks a historic event for the local chapter as both women are active chapter members.

Chapter membership is open to any woman age 18 or older that can prove lineal descent from an American Patriot who supported the fight for freedom during the Revolutionary War. Interested individuals may contact Chapter Registrar Deb Muntz at 260-367-1254 for assistance with research and application preparation. The Chapter meets the third Saturday of each month August through June (except January) at Mt. Zion Lutheran Church, LaGrange, at 9:30 a.m. Guests are welcome.