Share |

Candidate deadlines released

Bonnie J. Brown, Clerk of the Circuit Court, announced the following deadline for an individual to file a Declaration of Candidacy for the 2014 Primary Election to be held on May 6, 2014.

Filing for Candidacy begins January 8, 2014, and will continue through 12:00 p.m., February 7, 2014. The deadline for a withdrawal of a Declaration of Candidacy is by 12:00 p.m. on February 10, 2014.

The following positions will be held on the May 6, 2014 Primary Ballots:

Federal: US Senate, and U.S. House of Representative – District 3.

State of Indiana: Indiana Senate – District 13, Indiana House of Representative – District 51 and Indiana House of Representative - District 82.

LaGrange County: Judge of the Circuit Court, Judge of the Superior Court, County Assessor, County Auditor, County Sheriff, County Surveyor, Prosecuting Attorney, County Commissioner – District 1, County Council – Districts 1, 2, 3, & 4, Democratic Party Precinct Committeemen – All Precincts, State Convention Delegates – Republicans (9), Democrats (8), All Township Trustees (1 each Township), and All Township Trustee Boards (3 each Township).

Town of LaGrange: LaGrange Town Council – Ward 4 and 5 (1 each).

Town of Shipshewana: Shipshewana Town Council – District 1 and 2 (1 each).

Town of Topeka: Topeka Town Council – At Large 1 seat (1 each).

The following deadlines are to file a Declaration of Candidacy for the 2014 General Election to be held November 4, 2014.

School Board petition for Office may be filed from July 23, 2014 to 12:00 p.m. on August 22, 2014.

Lakeland School Board – Districts 1, 2, and 4 (1 each)

Prairie Heights School Board – Milford and Milgrove Districts (1 each)

Westview School Board – Van Buren and Newbury Districts (1 each)

Independent Candidates filing runs from January 8, 2014 to 12:00 p.m. on June 30, 2014 for the General Election.

Now is the time to check for Voter Registration to make sure it is current. You can do so by calling Voter Registration at 260-499-6392 or if you have a valid Indiana Drivers License or ID card you can go online to to make changes to your Voters Registration.

For more information, please contact LaGrange County Clerk at 260-499-6368 or Voter Registration at 260-499-6392.