Share |

Busy May primary for LaGrange County

LaGrange County Republican voters will have plenty of choices in the May primary.

Both county judge positions will have contested races in the primary, something that hasn’t happened for a long time.

Incumbent LaGrange County Superior Court Judge George Brown will face a challenge from Lisa Bowen-Slaven.

Larry Helmer filed to challenge LaGrange County Circuit Court Judge Scott VanDerbeck.

Another legal office in the county will see a contested race in the primary as incumbent LaGrange County Prosecutor Jeff Wible will face the man he beat for the job in 2006, Tim Cain.

Three men are seeking to take on the responsibilities of LaGrange County Sheriff as Terry Martin comes to the end of his second term. Republicans will have to choose between Jeff Campos, Randy Mellinger and Richard Snyder.

Incumbent LaGrange County Commissioner Garry Heller is also in a three-way race in the primary, as two others have filed to run for the North District seat – Terry Martin and David Nelson.

Harold Gingerich has filed to run against incumbent LaGrange County Council member Richard Yoder.

All county races on the May 6 Primary Ballot:

County Assessor – Patricia Monroe.

County Auditor – Kay Myers.

County Commissioner, North District – David Nelson, Terry Martin, and Garry Heller.

County Council District 1 – Charles Ashcraft.

County Council District 2 – George Bachman.

County Council District 3 – Harold Gingerich and Richard Yoder.

County Council District 4 – Peter Cook.

County Sheriff – Jeffrey Campos, Richard Snyder and Randy Mellinger.

County Surveyor – Rex Pranger.

Precinct Committeemen

Bloomfield – Democrat Mark Eagleson.

Clay – Democrat Mary Mynhier.

Lima – Democrat Thomas Smith.

Town Council

LaGrange Town Council Ward 4 – Suellyn Mickem (D).

Shipshewana Town Council District 1 – Joseph Wilcher (R).

Wolcottville Town Council At Large – Gregory Ringler (R).

Township Board Members

Bloomfield Twp. – Patricia Merrifield, Allan Connelly, and Steven Bowen.

Clay Twp. – Richard Muntz, David Vogler, and Steven Wappes.

Clearspring Twp. – Vicki Mowery, Larry Christner, and Doris Haggard.

Eden Twp. – Craig Helman.

Greenfield Twp. – Miriam Carnahan.

Johnson Twp. – Rian McMaster, Mitchell Neumann, Joan Van Wagner, and J.R. Young.

Lima Twp. – Phil Yunker and Thomas Atwater.


Milford Twp. – Roy Wolheter and Danny Young.

Newbury Twp. – Jerrald Hostetler.

Springfield Twp. – Theodore Gunthorp, Daniel Prough, and James Mireley.

Van Buren Twp. – E.L. Schrock, Gary Smith, and John Hooley.

Township Trustees

Bloomfield Twp. – William Pipher.

Clay Twp. – William Connelly.

Clearspring Twp. – Melisa Lewton.

Eden Twp. – Dawn Christner.

Greenfield Twp. – Arlys Boggs.

Johnson Twp. – Cynthia Jordan, Dalonda Young, and John Russell.

Lima Twp. – Thomas Smith (D) and Kirby Glick (R).

Milford Twp. – Bruce Bowman and Valerie Coney.

Newbury Twp. – Ann Glick.

Springfield Twp. – Zachary Holsinger and Debra Notestine.

Van Buren Twp. – Erma (Lynn) Conklin.