Share |

All -NECC players announced


Westview senior Skyler Carpenter was named to the All-NECC girls basketball team for the third consecutive season in a recent vote of the league’s coaches.

Joining the Lady Warrior star on the 2011-12 elite list from LaGrange County were seniors Lauren McKibben of Lakeland and Tianna Terry of Prairie Heights. Both are making their first appearance on the All-NECC unit.

League champion Angola, Fairfield and Fremont each had three of its players named to the squad. Lady Hornets honored included senior Megan Davis and juniors Ericka Rinehart and Rachel Rinehart.

Seniors Becca Kropf and Emily Beasley, and sophomore Haley Brown were the Lady Falcons cited. Representing Fremont are sophomore Miranda White and seniors Liz Carlson and Kaitlin Kobelak.

Rounding out the first team are senior Haleigh Gross of Churubusco, senior Taylor Graber of Eastside, junior Lindsey Stoy of Hamilton and junior Haley Richardson and sophomore Kelsie Peterson of West Noble.

Six players received honorable mention votes including sophomores Tressa Terry and Shawna Carbone of Prairie Heights, and senior Jeslyn Zimmerly of Westview. Others were senior Emily Watkins and junior Ashton Sellers of Angola, and senior Samantha Bortner of Central Noble.



Six players from LaGrange County have been tabbed for the 2011-12 All-NECC boys basketball first team.

Seniors Brant Yoder and Adrian Brandenberger, along with sophomore Jordyn Bontrager made the list from Westview. It is the first selection to the all-conference squad for all three Warriors.

Lakeland senior Jalen King earned his second All-NECC selection. Making his first appearance on the elite list for the Lakers is junior Spencer Mortola.

Completing the local sextet is freshman Jacob Heller of Prairie Heights.

Regular-season champion Fremont is represented on the squad by juniors Jake Bryant and Tyler Jenkins. Seniors Tyler Arrowsmith and Josh LeFever were named from Churubusco. Senior Nick McCoy and junior Alex Vice made the list from Central Noble.

Rounding out the first team are junior Simon Brown of Angola, senior Austen Bow of Eastside, senior Chandler Kauffman of Fairfield and sophomore Drew Schermerhorn of West Noble.

Drawing honorable mention votes were senior Austin Pulver of Central Noble, sophomore A.J. Mast of Fairfield, junior Jordon Schmucker of Fremont, senior Suede Schiffli of Hamilton and sophomore Keith Gibson, junior Nick Noe and junior Nick Thomas all of West Noble.