Share |

All-NECC baseball team announced

Four players from Westview were named to the 2014 All-NECC baseball first team in a recent vote by the league’s coaches.

Jake Berkey, Judah Zickafoose, Jamar Weaver and Tarrin Beachy were the Warriors honored.

Four other LaGrange County diamondmen – two each from Lakeland and Prairie Heights – join the Westview quartet on the elite list. William Kelly and Morgan Moore were the Lakers selected, while Jacob Heller and Corey Johnson represent the Panther pride.

League champion Angola equaled Westview with four picks to the first unit. Tyler Kennedy, Markus Arnold, Justin Davis and Jake Roddy were the Hornets tabbed.

Fairfield and Fremont both received three All-NECC berths. Austin Christner, Tony Zook and Zac Kropf make up the Falcon trio. Alex Beams, Ryan Sichling and Brock Baker were the Eagles selected.

Rounding out the All-NECC first team are Devin Peters and Brent Simmons of Churubusco, Cade Willard and Terry Nickolson of Eastside, Aaron Kelley of Hamilton and Waylon Richardson of West Noble.

Eleven players received honorable mention votes, including Dylan Pranger and Kyle Casper of Lakeland, Jared Beechy and Bo Murphy of Prairie Heights, and Houston Haney of Westview. The others were Nick Chao of Angola, Zak Armstrong of Central Noble, Jacob Howe and Kody Poyser of Churubusco, Lucas Miller of Fairfield and Levi Nelson of West Noble.