Share |

Absentee voting and voter registration dates announced

Circuit Court Clerk Bonnie J. Brown has announced the deadlines for an individual to vote absentee in the clerk’s office before the General Election to be held on November 4, 2014. Polls will open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.

Absentee voting opens at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 7, in the clerk’s office in the LaGrange County Courthouse. Absentee voting closes at noon on Monday, Nov. 3.

Absentee voting hours will be from 9 a.m. until noon and 1-4 p.m. Monday through Friday at the courthouse. There will also be absentee voting from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 25, and Saturday, Nov. 1.

To request an absentee application, either call the Voter Registration Office at 499-6392 or stop in at the Voter Registration Office located in the courthouse. Voters can also visit to get an application.

Voter registration closes on Monday, Oct. 6, and will resume on Monday, Dec. 1.

A valid government-issued photo ID is required at polls in order to vote. Save time at the polls and call Voter Registration to be sure your Indiana Driver’s License is on your registration.

Candidates listing

All three school districts have school board seats on the November ballot, none contested.

At Lakeland, David Larimer is seeking reelection in District 1, Robert Bond filed to retain his seat in District 2, and Kathy Fuller is looking to continue representing District 4.

Two seats are on the ballot in the Prairie Heights district. Kirk Perkins is running to retain his seat for the Milford district, while Bill McClanahan will be seeking to represent the Millgrove district.

Westview also has two candidates seeking reelection: Keith Lambright for Newbury Township and Gerald Lee for Van Buren Township.

The November general election will see two contested races for county offices on the ballot.

Republican Terry Martin will be facing Dale Sturtz for the County Commissioner-District 1 seat. Martin, who is finishing his second term as LaGrange County Sheriff, defeated incumbent Garry Heller and challenger Dave Nelson in the spring primary to earn the Republican nomination. Sturtz filed earlier this summer to represent the Democratic ticket.

Former LaGrange County Prosecutor Tim Cain, who defeated incumbent Jeff Wible in the primary election, will run against current Chief Deputy Prosecutor Greg Kenner, who filed to run for the office as an Independent.

Other county officers that will be on November’s ballot include:

County Assessor Patricia Monroe

County Auditor Kay Myers

County Council members Charles Ashcraft (Dist. 1), George Bachman (Dist. 2), Harold Gingerich (Dist. 3) and Peter Cook (Dist. 4)

County Surveyor Rex Pranger

LaGrange County Circuit Court Judge James VanDerbeck

LaGrange County Superior Court Judge Lisa Bowen-Slaven.

State Representative Dennis Zent is running for reelection.

Two Shipshewana Town seats will be on the ballot, with Joseph Wilcher running for Dist. 1 and current council member Lynn Bontrager for Dist. 2.